Skip to main content

Herreshoff 12 Class Awards

Winsor Cup
Named for Charles P. Winsor and given for the 4th of July Race each year. Winsor Island is also called Rocky Point, and sometimes the race was started from there. The house is at the left hand edge of Hospital Cove. The Winsors still live there.

Goodwin W. Harding Trophy
Named for the brother of William G. Harding of H Class, Stuart Knockabout, and Harding Sails fame, "Goodie" died at a relatively young age. His wife, Sis Rice Harding Harrison Potter, is still on Hospital Cove. The trophy was for the second race of the July series. We have now re-awarded it to the three race Fourth of July regatta.

The Carryall Trophy
Awarded to the July Series winner.

Henry Ware Memorial Trophy
This trophy was for the third series race in August. It replaced the Bement trophy, which was retired after being won three times by the Chases. The trophy is named for Bill Ware's grandfather, Henry Ware who came to Hospital Cove in 1884 and won the series championship in 1893 in cat boats (before there were H-12s). It will be awarded for the Labor Day three race series.

Walter W. Weld Memorial Trophy
Named for Wally, Sandy, Ned and Molly Weld's father and given to the winner of the August H Class series.

Frederic Wolsey Pratt Memorial Trophy
Named after Mr. Pratt, who was a long-time summer resident of Hospital Cove. This trophy is given to the winner of the Labor Day race.

Reynolds Trophy
This is a permanent trophy with keepers which was first awarded in 1936 to the summer series winner of the H Class. It was donated by Mr. And Mrs. Reynolds of Scraggy Neck and has all the names of the winning boats from 1936 through 1993 inscribed on the trophy and the base that has been added. This is the oldest and most prestigious of the Buzzards Trophies.

Bullseye Awards

Wilson Brazer Trophy
A trophy for the winner of the 4th of July race. Permanent trophy with names of winners engraved on it.

Darling Cup
This is a trophy given to the winner of the three race 4th of July series.

Donald A. Hurter Cup
This is a permanent trophy with winners engraved on it since inception. Don Hurter was one of the original Bullseye racers from Scraggy Neck, who donated the trophy. This is for the July series in Bullseyes.

Worley Cup
Labor Day winner. Permanent trophy with keeper.

Bullseye Cup
Trophy given to the winner of the three race Labor Day weekend regatta.

McEvoy Bowl
Permanent trophy for the August Series winner. Names engraved each year.

Knowlton Trophy
Awarded to the summer series winner. Donated by the three sons of Frank W. Knowlton, the first race committee chairman of the Buzzards in 1930. Permanent trophy with keeper.

All the Bullseye trophies are permanent, and were donated by the class racers when the class commenced racing in the early 1960s.